
Behavioral Health Sub-Report

Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling

Overview

Two other states license vocational rehabilitation counselors—Louisiana and Massachusetts.
In Utah, the regulation of vocational rehabilitation counselors is overseen by the Division of
Professional Licensing, Department of Commerce. Utah currently issues one license type:
Licensed Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (LVRC). The vast majority of LVRCs are employed
by the Utah Department of Workforce Services.

License Type Scope Authority Education Experience Exam

LVRC Non-Mental
Health Therapist Independent Master’s Degree ✔ ✔

Fee Structure

Initial Licensing Fee Annualized Renewal Fee

License Type Utah Fee US Median Utah Fee US Median

Licensed Vocational
Rehabilitation Counselor $70 $117 $24 $78

Complaints

During the past 5 years (2018-2022), an average of 1 complaint was filed annually against an
average of 1 Utah vocational rehabilitation counselor–or .3% of active licensees in any given year.
No complaints were found to be substantiated during the same period.133

133 OPLR Analysis of DOPL Substantiated Complaint Data
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Wait Times and Active Licensees

On average, Utah vocational rehabilitation counselors report that at their primary practice location
there is a ~12 day wait time for those seeking care. This is lower than the ~37 day average across
Utah’s behavioral health care field.134,135

Name # Active Licensees Annualized 5-Year Growth Rate136

LVRC 165 -3.58%

Recommendations

Relevant Recommendations from OPLR’s Periodic Review

The following recommendation from OPLR’s periodic review of the regulation of the behavioral
health care workforce is relevant for vocational rehabilitation (see final report for additional
information):

● 1c. Continuing Education

Note: The above recommendation is only applicable to the regulation of vocational rehabilitation if
the additional recommendation detailed below is not implemented.

Additional Recommendations

In addition to the relevant recommendations listed above, OPLR recommends that Utah
policymakers enact the following change to the regulation of vocational rehabilitation counselors.

● Reduce barriers to workforce entry by fully deregulating the practice of vocational
rehabilitation counseling. (58-78)

136 OPLR Analysis of DOPL Licensing Data

135 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight
(2022). 2023 Letter to Issuers in the Federally-facilitated Exchanges. [online] U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services. Available at: https://www.cms.gov/files/document/2023-draft-letter-issuers-508.pdf

134 OPLR Behavioral Health Care Workforce Survey (CPMDS)
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Deregulation of Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling

Summary of Recommendation

Reduce barriers to workforce entry by fully deregulating the practice of vocational
rehabilitation counseling. (58-78)

Status Quo. Currently, the title and practice of vocational rehabilitation counseling are protected
under a full licensure model in Utah. This means that only actively licensed individuals may use the
title “vocational rehabilitation counselor”137 or engage in the practice of vocational rehabilitation
counseling, unless otherwise exempted by law.138 The “practice of providing vocational
rehabilitation services” is defined in statute as “rendering or offering to an individual, group,
organization, or the general public vocational rehabilitation services: (a) in public or private
practice; (b) for compensation; and (c) involving the application of principles, methods, or
procedures of the vocational rehabilitation counseling profession, which include: (i) vocational
assessment; (ii) vocational rehabilitation counseling and guidance; (iii) vocational and other training
services; (iv) self-employment plans; (v) job analysis; and (vi) job placement.”139

Existing Approaches. Only two other states besides Utah (Louisiana and Massachusetts) have
distinct licenses for vocational rehabilitation counselors. The Commission on Rehabilitation
Counselor Certification (CRCC) website shows that about a dozen states recognize the Certified
Rehabilitation Counseling Examination (CRCE) exam for general counseling licensure.140,141

Rationale. OPLR is mandated to consider the following three factors when evaluating the need for
licensure: 1) public safety, 2) access to services and workforce entry, and 3) healthcare
reimbursement where applicable.142 In the case of vocational rehabilitation counseling, OPLR’s
findings indicate that licensure of this profession is not necessary to protect public safety or to
enable reimbursement, and may in fact be impeding consumers’ access to services by creating
unnecessary barriers to workforce entry. OPLR’s criteria for evaluation and findings in each of
these areas are discussed below.

First, regarding public safety, OPLR is required to consider:143

143 UCA 13-1b-302
142 UCA 13-1b-302

141 This is based on information currently available on the CRCC website, but OPLR has not confirmed when
this information was last updated. In these cases, as well as in other states that do not recognize the CRCE
exam, OPLR has not confirmed whether the scope of counseling practice in those states specifically protects
those activities defined as the practice of vocational rehabilitation counseling in Utah.

140 Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (2021). State Licensure Boards. [online]
Crccertification.com. Available at:
https://crccertification.com/advocacy-and-legislation/state-licensure-boards/.

139 UCA 58-78-102
138 UCA 58-78-301
137 UCA 58-78-501
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“(1) whether the regulation of the occupation is necessary to address a present, recognizable,
and significant harm to the health, safety, or financial welfare of the public;
(2) for any harm to the health, safety, or financial welfare of the public, the harm’s:
(a) severity;
(b) probability; and
(c) permanence;”

In the case of vocational rehabilitation counseling, state licensure does not appear to be
necessary to ensure public safety. To OPLR’s knowledge, virtually all of the state’s licensed
vocational rehabilitation counselors (LVRCs) are employed by the Utah State Office of
Rehabilitation (USOR) within the Department of Workforce Services (DWS). USOR’s program
provides multiple forms of internal oversight, safeguards, and supervision for LVRCs, as well as
avenues of recourse for client complaints, all of which seem to be sufficient to handle complaints or
safety issues as evidenced by the extremely low volume of complaints made to DOPL against
LVRCs. Since the enactment of LVRC licensure in 2009, DOPL has only received eight complaints
against LVRCs. Of these, five complaints against USOR employees were found to be substantiated
and were addressed via administrative sanctions or letters of concern.144 Put another way, no
complaint over the period was found serious enough to discipline a licensee by suspending or
revoking the license. Based on this low complaint rate, the oversight mechanisms available at
USOR, and the fact that the practice of an LVRC does not include the delivery of
psychotherapeutic interventions or other high-risk activities (see description of scope of practice
above), full licensure is likely not needed in order to protect the public. Put another way, OPLR’s
analysis suggests that the current system of full licensure does meaningfully address public safety
for vocational rehabilitation counseling.

This position is also consistent with a helpful framework for determining the necessity of licensure
based on risks to public safety developed by the Vermont state government.145 This framework
states that 1) licensure is only recommended if “it is apparent that the public cannot be adequately
protected by any other means” and that 2) entity-level regulation may be more appropriate than
occupational licensing when it pertains to limiting the harms of services that are primarily delivered
through business entities or facilities. While the practice of vocational rehabilitation may include
some risk to the public due to counselors’ frequent interactions with vulnerable populations, the
existing, comprehensive entity-level oversight that DWS provides appears to be sufficient to protect
against those risks.

USOR and DWS as an employer can maintain a similar level of training, expertise, and
professionalism through other means without state licensure of the profession. Discontinuing the
LVRC license would not preclude USOR from establishing its own requirements for employment or
professional advancement based on education, experience, exams, or national certifications such
as those offered by CCRC.

145 26 V.S.A. § 3105(b)(1)-(5)

144 Division of Professional Licensing (2023). OPLR question about vocational rehabilitation complaints
[Email] Communication between OPLR and DOPL investigators.
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Second, regarding access to services and workforce entry, OPLR is required to consider:146

“(4) whether the proposed or existing regulation of the occupation:
(a) affects the supply of qualified practitioners;
(b) creates barriers to:

(i) services that are not in the public financial welfare or interest; or
(ii) entry into the occupation or related occupations…

(c ) imposes new costs on existing practitioners;
(d) affects:

(i) license reciprocity with other jurisdictions; or
(ii) mobility of practitioners;...”

OPLR has determined that the current licensure system for LVRCs offers no clear benefits to, and
in fact may impede, access to services, workforce entry, and practitioner mobility. DWS
administrators shared with OPLR that the current licensing requirements, which include a master’s
degree, make both hiring and retention of employees unnecessarily difficult for USOR147–-their
counselors are frequently hired without licensure and may work for up to five years as unlicensed
trainees while completing a master’s degree and experiential hours. One USOR employee with
knowledge of training and hiring shared with OPLR their estimation that 85-90% of vocational
rehabilitation counselors are hired without a license or a master’s degree, and that a substantial
proportion of those initially hired as a counselor do not achieve full licensure, which may contribute
to turnover and retention issues.148 Eliminating state licensure requirements would remove the
external constraints on USOR’s hiring and employment processes, including the current time limit
of 5 years for new hires to obtain licensure. Additionally, because Utah is an outlier in terms of
regulating vocational rehabilitation counseling (being one of only three states with this type of
license), this rare requirement for licensure may be a barrier for out-of-state practitioners wishing to
relocate to Utah or to provide services remotely to Utah clients.

Third, regarding healthcare reimbursement, OPLR is required to consider:149

“(4) whether the proposed or existing regulation of the occupation: …
(e) if the occupation involves a health care provider, impacts the health care provider’s
ability to obtain payment of benefits for the health care provider’s treatment of an illness,
injury, or health care condition under an insurance contract subject to Section
31A-22-618;”

OPLR’s findings indicate that maintaining the current licensure model is unnecessary for purposes
of healthcare reimbursement. Vocational rehabilitation counselors do not provide services that are

149 UCA 13-1b-302
148 OPLR Listening & Vetting Tour
147 OPLR conversation with DWS administrator
146 UCA 13-1b-302
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reimbursable by health care payers such as Medicare/Medicaid or private insurance,150 making
licensure unnecessary in this regard.

Given that Utah’s current licensing of vocational rehabilitation counselors does not appear to
meaningfully improve public safety beyond the safeguards provided by entity-level oversight, that
licensing may limit access to services for consumers and create unnecessary barriers to attracting
and retaining the workforce, and that licensure is not essential in enabling reimbursement for
services, OPLR recommends fully deregulating the practice of vocational rehabilitation counseling
in the state of Utah.

150 Wilde, D. (2023) OPLR Medicaid Questions. [Email] Communication between OPLR and state Medicaid
administrators at the Department of Health and Human Services.
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